November 3, 2020 General Election Info.

November 3, 2020, General Election

Voters will elect two (2) members to serve on the City Council and one (1) member to serve as City Treasurer

Voters will also vote on Measure R

Qualified candidates for City Council are as follows:

Michael Saragosa
Mandi Rodriguez
Jackie Neau
Tracy Bunch
Jackie Yepez

The write- in period for the City Treasurer and City Council seats is September 8 - October 20, 2020.  Write-in candidates may not have a Ballot Designation or a Statement of Qualifications.  It is up to the candidate to get their name out to the voters.  Please contact the City Clerk at or (530)642-5531 for a Statement of Write-In Candidacy form.

Nov. 3, 2020 Candidate Calendar
Nov 3, 2020 Measure Calendar

City of Placerville

The City of Placerville is a general law city and uses a Council-Manager form of government.  Five Council Members, elected at large for four-year staggered terms, govern the City.  The City Treasurer is also elected by the voters and serves a four-year term. Elections for the City’s Elected Officials are held in November of each even-numbered year.  

About The City Council

  • Council Members are elected at-large and serve a 4-year term.
  • The Mayor and Vice Mayor are appointed every year in January by the City Council and serve for one year.
  • Regular City Council Meetings are held on the second and fourth Tuesdays of each month at 6:00 p.m.

Voting and Election Information

At the November election, two (2) seats on the City Council (currently held by Mayor Michael Saragosa and Councilmember Mark Acuna) will be up for election.  The remaining three seats on the City Council are currently held by Vice-Mayor Dennis Thomas, Councilmember Patty Borelli, and Councilmember Kara Taylor.  Their terms end in November 2022.  Additionally, one (1) City Treasurer seat will be up for election (currently held by Kathy Trumbly).

Measure R

The City Council has adopted Resolution No. 8867 placing the following measure on the November 3, 2020 ballot:


Vote YES or NO

Shall the office of City Treasurer be appointed with the first appointment to be  made upon the (i) expiration of the term of office of the person elected to serve as City Treasurer at the November 3, 2020 General Municipal Election; or (ii) the office becoming vacant, whichever occurs first?

Eligibility and Candidacy

The Candidate Filing Period is July 13, 2020 - August 7, 2020.  To be eligible to run for office, a candidate must be a resident and registered voter of the City by the last day for filing of nomination papers.  Registered voters in the incorporated area of Placerville must be U.S. citizens, residents of Placerville, 18 years of age or older on the date of the election, and not in prison or on parole for a felony conviction.  If the incumbent fails to file before the August 7, 2020 deadline, the filing deadline will extend five (5) calendar days to August 12, 2020. 

Interested in running for office?  Contact the City Clerk at or call (530)642-5531 to make an appointment to review the City’s Candidate Information Packet.

Voter Registration 

To find out if you are currently registered to vote, visit the webpage of the California Secretary of State.  Not registered to vote?  Register online at the California Secretary of State.  

Re-registration is required if you have moved since you last registered, changed your name, or changed your political party affiliation.

The registration deadline is 15 days before an election.  For more information, contact the City of Placerville City Clerk's office at (530) 642-5531 or contact the El Dorado County Elections Department at (530) 621-7480.

A State-by-State Guide to Mail-in Voting and Updating Your Voter Registration Address:

Please contact the following for questions and scheduling:

Regina O’Connell, City Clerk/Filing Officer

Phone:  (530) 642-5531